GUEST POST: YA Fantasy Gift Guide // Marrill @ Books and Ravens

Today I’m here with the second of three guest posts I have planned for y’all in the month of December. If you’re one of those last-minute shoppers and would like to get a book for your fantasy-loving friend, here are some rec’s from Marrill @ Books and Ravens!

divider

Hello Bibliophiles!

If you know me, you know I’m no stranger to fantasy. I’m also no stranger to books (which may be obvious as we continue).

A lot of times, as the holidays come around, you want to buy a book for a fellow reader or family member, but you don’t know what book. Well, I can help with that! At least, when it comes to fantasy.

So here are some YA fantasies, some that I have read and loved, some that many others have read and loved – either way, there’s bound to be a fantasy book here for your bibliophile family member\friend.

divider_small

THE REMNANT CHRONICLES by MARY E. PEARSON

the-remnant-chronicles-by-mary-e-pearson

Most definitely one of my favorite series of all time, starting with The Kiss of Deception, and then The Heart of Betrayal and The Beauty of Darkness. The first book is about the princess of Morrigan, Lia, who runs away on her wedding day to live in a small town with her closest friend. She is then hunted by an assassin from a rival kingdom. It has action, excellent world-building and some of the best characters I’ve ever read.

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES by SARAH J. MAAS

courtofthornsandroses

I would not be surprised if you already knew about this book. This is a trilogy that’s best to buy in the box set – the first book, while having good action and fantasy elements, is the weakest of the series. But the second takes it up about ten notches and has incredible characters, an amazing world and magic every time you turn around.

AN ENCHANTMENT OF RAVENS by MARGARET RODGERSON

anenchantmentofravens

An Enchantment of Ravens is about Isobel, who is an artist who paints portraits of the Fair Ones. The Fairy Ones – Fae – can’t use any human Craft (painting, cooking, writing, etc.) without crumbling to dust and rely on humans for their talents. While it’s been getting mixed reviews in the bookish community, this book is perfect for a friend who isn’t a review, and just wants a nice romance with a fantasy element.

HEARTLESS by MARISSA MEYER

heartless

Heartless is a retelling of Alice in Wonderland and centers around the backstory for The Queen of Hearts. The world is so wonderfully strange, and it fits with the original so well. Perfect for fans of Tim Burton’s version of Wonderland.

MY LADY JANE by CYNTHIA HAND, BRODI ASHTON, AND JODI MEADOWS

myladyjane

This is by far one of my favorite fantasy books – it’s a retelling of the story of Lady Jane Grey, who was Queen of England for seven days before being beheaded. But in this version, she doesn’t die. There is also shapeshifters, betrayal, horses and the funniest dialogue I’ve ever read.

THREE DARK CROWNS by KENDARE BLAKE

threedarkcrowns

Every generation triplets are born, always girls, each with different powers. An Elemental, a Poisoner and a Naturalist. They have to fight each other for the throne – and win control over the kingdom for their house. It starts when they are sixteen, and in order to gain the throne one will have to kill the other two. I have a lot of friends who loved this book, and it is perfect for a reader who loves darker fantasies.

divider_small2

I hope this helped you come up with some gift ideas for the holidays! If you have any fantasy books you thought should’ve been on this list, feel free to comment below – you can never have too many recommendations.

Happy Holidays Bibliophiles!

divider2

Thank you Marrill for writing this great guest post with fantasy recommendations!! Did you find this list helpful for your Christmas/Holiday shopping? Will you be buying books for anybody this holiday season?

Let's Chat

lots-of-love

Follow Me!

Goodreads | Google+ | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | Pinterest

6 thoughts on “GUEST POST: YA Fantasy Gift Guide // Marrill @ Books and Ravens

  1. Pingback: December Monthly Wrap-Up // Moving, Getting Sick & Hello, 2018! | The Book Prophet

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s