2018 Releases I’m Excited For (and you should be excited for too)

Hey everyone! Today I decided that I’d write a post about some upcoming 2018 releases that I’m excited for. I’m not a person that keeps a list of upcoming books, but there are already loads of books coming out in 2018 that sound really good, so I wanted to compile a blog post about them.

A lot of these books will most likely be diverse because the YA book community has been overflowing with loads of amazing diverse releases lately. 2018 is jam-packed with diverse books and this contributes to my decision to write this post. I love diverse books and I’m so happy that publishing companies have begun to publish the diverse books being written by authors that are diverse too!

I’ll also try and separate the books by genre as best I can.

And this isn’t a full list of 2018 releases – or even the most anticipated by the YA blogging community, just what I’m personally excited for
So no Sarah J Maas
Or Cassie Clare cause I’m not caught up on her books #halp

divider

American Panda by Gloria Chao

americanpanda

What it’s about: An incisive, laugh-out-loud contemporary debut about a Taiwanese-American teen whose parents want her to be a doctor and marry a Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer despite her germophobia and crush on a Japanese classmate.

Why I’m excited: Asian main character (and love interest!), ADORABLE cover, discovering yourself and breaking away from cultural expectations.

Release Date: February 6, 2018

A Girl Like That by Tanaz Bhathena

agirllikethat

What it’s about: A timeless exploration of high-stakes romance, self-discovery, and the lengths we go to love and be loved. It tackles complicated issues of race, identity, class, and religion, and paints a portrait of teenage ambition, angst, and alienation that feels both inventive and universal.

Why I’m excited: Tackles important issues we face in this day and age, seems like it’ll be 2018’s THUG.

Release Date: February 27, 2018

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed 

lovehateandotherfilters

What it’s about: A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Why I’m excited: Indian-American Muslim MC, may also be 2018’s THUG, gives insight on what it’s like to be an Indian-American Muslim in America right now.

Release Date: January 16, 2018

From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon

*NO COVER*

What it’s about: Told through the letters Twinkle writes to her favorite female filmmakers, From Twinkle, With Love navigates big truths about friendship, family, and the unexpected places love can find you.

Why I’m excited: I LOVED WDMR, it sounds so unique and cute and fluffy, DIVERSITY!

Release Date: Summer 2018

The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan

theastonishingcolorofafter

What it’s about: Alternating between contemporary and magic elements, past and present, romance and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a novel about finding oneself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Why I’m excited: Half-Asian half-white MC, how a daughter deals with her mother’s suicide, traveling to Taiwan.

Release Date: March 20, 2018

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles

tylerjohnsonwashere

What it’s about: When Marvin Johnson’s twin, Tyler, goes to a party, Marvin decides to tag along to keep an eye on his brother. But what starts as harmless fun turns into a shooting, followed by a police raid. The next day, Tyler has gone missing, and it’s up to Marvin to find him. But when Tyler is found dead, a video leaked online tells an even more chilling story: Tyler has been shot and killed by a police officer. Terrified as his mother unravels and mourning a brother who is now a hashtag, Marvin must learn what justice and freedom really mean

Why I’m excited: Okay this one will be 2018’s THUG, that cover is so gorgeous.

Release Date: March 20, 2018

Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

gunslingergirl

What it’s about: In this extraordinary debut from Lyndsay Ely, the West is once again wild after a Second Civil War fractures the U.S. into a broken, dangerous land. Pity’s struggle against the dark and twisted underbelly of a corrupt city will haunt you long after the final bullet is shot.

Why I’m excited: I freaking love anything set in the Wild West, the main character sounds amazing.

Release Date: January 2, 2018

Dread Nation by Justina Ireland

dreadnation

What it’s about: A story of the undead like you’ve never read before, Justina Ireland’s Dread Nation is a fresh, stunning, and powerful meditation on race in America wrapped in an alternate-history adventure where Confederate and Union soldiers rise from the dead at the end of the Civil War.

Why I’m excited: ZOMBIES IN THE CIVIL WAR WHAT IS NOT TO BE EXCITED FOR, Black MC, I’m a sucker for Historical Fiction books with a twist.

Release Date: April 3, 2018

The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee

*NO COVER*

What it’s about: A sequel to The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, narrated by Felicity and featuring travel, pirates, and a science girl gang.

Why I’m excited: I really enjoyed Gentleman’s Guide, I can’t wait to learn more about Felicity.

Release Date: Unknown 2018

Daughter of the Siren Queen by Tricia Levensellar 

daughterofthesirenqueen

What it’s about: The capable, confident, and occasionally ruthless heroine of Daughter of the Pirate King is back in this action-packed sequel that promises rousing high seas adventures and the perfect dash of magic.

Why I’m excited: I really loved the first book in this series so I’m really excited to see where the story goes.

Release Date: February 27, 2018

Untitled Carval #2 by Stephanie Garber

What it’s about: Sequel to her debut novel Caraval. There’s literally no more information on the book besides that.

Why I’m excited: I wasn’t a huge fan of Caraval, but I’m still interested to see what ends up happening in the sequel.

Release Date: Unknown 2018

A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir

areaperatthegates

What it’s about: Third book in the An Ember in the Ashes series.

Why I’m excited: I still haven’t read the second book in the series, but I’m still hyped for this to release.

Release Date: April 10, 2018

The Muse of Nightmares by Laini Taylor

*NO COVER*

What it’s about: There was a war between men and gods, and men won. The few surviving children of the gods have grown up in hiding, dreading the day they know must come: when humans find them, and end them. That day is at hand.

Why I’m excited: Sequel to Strange the Dreamer, excited cause a character I didn’t like much is out of the way (hopefully), I have no freaking clue what’s going to go down in this book.

Release Date: Unknown 2018

divider2

This wraps up my post on books coming out in 2018! Let me know what books you’re excited to be released in 2018 and if we’re anticipating the same books!

Let's Chat

lots-of-love

Follow Me!

Goodreads | Google+ | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

19 thoughts on “2018 Releases I’m Excited For (and you should be excited for too)

  1. Ohh, I’m quite curious about the Caraval sequel as well. I wasn’t such a fan of the first book, I found it entertaining but didn’t love it as much as everyone else did. Like you, I am still super curious to see what happens in the sequel. Also, can’t wait for The Astonishing Color, it sounds SO great!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thebookprophet

      I noticed when I was researching for 2018 books to talk about in this post that a lot of them I either never heard of or haven’t seen much of around the blogging community yet. Hopefully they end up getting more attention once their release dates come closer

      Like

  2. Pingback: Around the Blog #9 – Making up for a bad week – My Paper Infinity

  3. Lia

    Travel, pirates, and a science girl gang???? I NEED IT. Maybe I should first read The Gentlemen’s Guide though….
    A Girl Like That and Love, Hate & Other Filters are also high on my anticipated releases list!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. so far i’m anticipating immortal reign (the last book in the falling kingdoms ), cruel prince and reaper at the gates. there will a lot of final book in a series release next year like TOG and red queen and TDA and a flame in the mist #2 i need to catch up with these series before the last books come out!!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s