MINI-REVIEW: The Bane Chronicles *Spoiler-Free*

thebanechronicles

Title: The Bane Chronicles

Author: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 503

Synopsis:

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

divider

At first I wasn’t sure if I was going to write a review on this book, but I love Magnus and most of y’all probably love Magnus as well so I decided that I’d write mini reviews for each short story in this book!

Story 1 – What Happened in Peru // 2 Stars

This wasn’t the best start to this collection of short stories. Frankly, this story fell flat for me and we don’t even find out why Magnus was banned from Peru. Magnus himself doesn’t even find out!

Story 2 – The Runaway Queen // 3.5 Stars

I liked this one more than the last short story. Marie Antoinette makes an appearance! I did, however, still find myself getting bored when I read this one even though a lot of stuff was happening.

Story 3 – Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale // 4 Stars

This is where things started becoming interesting and I began enjoying the book more. Maybe it’s cause we finally got to the point where someone from a family we’re familiar with shows up. It still wasn’t amazing, but I did enjoy this one!

Story 4 – The Midnight Heir // 3.5 Stars

So… this one wasn’t my favorite mainly cause I haven’t yet read The Infernal Devices but characters that I know are from that series appear in this short story. And I also didn’t care much for the plot and what ends up happening at the end.

Story 5 – The Rise of the Hotel Dumort // 4 Stars

This is where things truly started to get interesting! I don’t know why but I kind of love reading Magnus’ interactions with vampires??

Story 6 – Saving Raphael Santiago // 5 Stars

If it weren’t for Malec in later stories, this would probably end up being my favorite short story!! Raphael is a character I always loved to read (and honestly I think he’s done brilliantly in the Shadowhunters TV show) and I laughed so much while reading this story! His and Magnus’ banter is the best.

Story 7 – The Fall of the Hotel Dumort // 5 Stars

I found this story extremely cool to read! The vampires in New York are somehow drugged and Magnus has to figure out how to sober them up and keep them from killing mundanes.

Story 8 – What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Already Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway) // 5 Stars

I bet every Malec fan – me included – just waited the entire book for this! My shipper heart was glowing and I would die happily knowing I had read this. Forget all the other ships in TMI, they don’t matter! Malec is where it’s at.

Story 9 – The Last Stand of the New York Institute // 4 Stars 

So although I really enjoyed this one, I don’t know why it was after number 8… so far the book has been in chronological order but with this story being after the last one, it goes out of order. Besides that, it was very interesting to see Magnus up against Valentine and the rest of his comrades. I found it especially (weird? hilarious? ironic?) when Magnus was going against Alec’s parents without having any idea that he would one day fall in love with their son.

Story 10 – The Course of True Love (And First Dates) // 5 Stars

I. LOVED. THIS. Seriously though, this was perfection! That’s literally all I can say that doesn’t sound like squeals and dolphin noises, which is probably what I sounded like at 12 am reading this short story over and over again.

Story 11 – The Voicemail of Magnus Bane // 4.5 Stars

This last short story was just a bonus story and was less of a story and more of a hilarious ending to the book. In TMI series after Alec and Magnus break up, Alec calls Magnus trying to get back together with him – but so does his sister and his other friends. I have never been a huge Isabelle fan (don’t get me wrong, I never disliked her) but this collection of voicemails that she leaves for Magnus, telling him to get back with her brother – even threatening him – is just the best sister thing Isabelle has ever done. I absolutely LOVED it. The only reason this isn’t 5 Stars is because it was voicemails so there wasn’t really a story.

divider2

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

Although this had a slow start, I ended up really loving this book! It got me in the mood to read Cassie Clare’s other books (need to read TID and Lady Midnight/Lord of Shadows). Give me a book all about Magnus Bane and it’s destined to be a hit for me!

Purchase This Book:

Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository 

Let's Chat

lots-of-love

Follow Me!

Goodreads | Google+ | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

8 thoughts on “MINI-REVIEW: The Bane Chronicles *Spoiler-Free*

  1. Pingback: Down the TBR Hole #13 | The Book Prophet

  2. Pingback: July Monthly Wrap-Up // My Birthday, BookTube-a-thon & Camp NaNoWriMo | The Book Prophet

  3. This just made me realize that I own this book and haven’t read it yet. Oh my god I’m so hating myself right now… I don’t even want to know how long I’ve had it already..
    I also still have to read Lord of Shadows but I’m postponing that one on purpose since the sequel is only coming out in 2019 and that’s… ages away..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I read Tale From Shadowhunter Academy and LOVED it so I might like this one…? I’ve never read it bc Magnus was never my favorite character (idk know why I just always found myself not caring… maybe I’d like him better now as opposed to 5 yrs ago 😂)

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s